October 10, 2017

Both bills are on the agenda for the Michigan House Natural Resources Committee on Wednesday, October 11, at 9AM. We expect the committee to take testimony on SB 316, and to vote on HR 154.

SB 316:

Currently, frogs can be hunted in MI. The law sets minimal protections for frogs and has been in place for nearly 90 years. If this bill becomes law, these protections (which prevent year-round hunting and hunting using artificial lights) are no longer in place, more expansive hunting regulations are likely. This is unwise based on current science and policy; it also would subject more frogs to a painful, slow death. The bill has passed the Senate and now is scheduled for a hearing in the House committee. AFA testified in opposition to SB 316 when it was heard in May 2017, and we will continue to oppose it in the House. Read our position here.

“This bill is little more than an attempt to expedite the process of relaxing restrictions on hunting frogs, when the DNR itself has stated that more research is necessary.”


HR 154:

This House Resolution calls on the MI Natural Resources Commission to “to encourage the Natural Resources Commission to add Sandhill cranes to the game species list and seek U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service approval to establish a Sandhill crane hunting season.” The rationale is unconvincing: that some “nuisance” birds destroy crops in the spring and that the current permit process allowing individuals to be killed does not allow the meat to be harvested and that other states allow hunting Sandhill cranes. Read our position here.

“Sandhill cranes have been protected in Michigan for 101 years, during which time their numbers have rebounded from near extinction. The result of a successful conservation effort to save these birds should not be a hunting season.”


Take action today:

Representative Gary Howell, Chair: GaryHowell@house.mi.gov
Representative Beau LaFave, Vice Chair: BeauLaFave@house.mi.gov
Representative David Maturen: DavidMaturen@house.mi.gov
Representative Joseph Bellino: JosephBellino@house.mi.gov
Representative Daire Rendon: DaireRendon@house.mi.gov
Representative Curt VanderWall: CurtVanderWall@house.mi.gov
Representative Bill Sowerby, Minority Vice Chair: WilliamSowerby@house.mi.gov
Representative Stephanie Chang: stephaniechang@house.mi.gov
Representative Christine Greig: christinegreig@house.mi.gov